Five Pawns Signature Vapor Liquid Review

By John Madden Posted April 25, 2015


Expert Rating


User Rating


28 User Reviews »




  • Extremely complex flavors
  • Five nicotine strengths (0 to 24mg)
  • The most unique blends on the market
  • All bottles are dated, batch and lot numbered
  • Something for all tastes
  • Nothing too overpowering


  • Only made in 50/50 vg/pg blend
  • Somewhat pricey, but worth it

Bottom Line

While Five Pawns may not be in every vaper's price range, the quality of their juice should impress even the most epicurean of juice connoisseurs.

Five Pawns Review: Signature Series and Mixology Edition

Having been around since November of 2012, Five Pawns was one of the first in movement toward more artisanal blends. But none have branded themselves in the way Five Pawns has. Taking a page out of the microbrew industry, founder Rodney Jerabek uniformly “themed” Five Pawns similar to that of a high-end craft brewery or distillery. Every glass bottle is not only individually numbered, but packaged in an elegant cardboard tube like a fine scotch.


Hence, this won’t be a typical e-juice review. I have decided to review each flavor as if it were a bottle of wine or a seasonally brewed stout. Each of Five Pawns’ ten blends will be broken down into appearance, smell, taste and overall opinion of the juice, similar to what you would find on Beer Advocate. Obviously, I can’t judge a flavor based on accuracy to it’s namesake when not only is it so complex, but has nothing to compare to. So let’s jump into the basics before we move on to the individual flavor reviews for Five Pawns.




As stated above, Five Pawns packages each bottle in a cardboard tube that is capped with a black top. Every tube is labeled with branding as well as the lot number it came from, nicotine strength, and date the juice was bottled. Inside is a glass, 30ml bottle with a traditional nipple-top dripper encasing a glass pipette. However, Five Pawns recently went a step above other brands with their Mixology Edition line and started using child-safety nipple-top drippers.


Five Pawns e-liquid packaging review


As far as I know, they are the only vendor using those caps. As for bottle labeling, you’ll find it’s very similar to what can be found on the tube. The only real difference is that each bottle is individually numbered 1-250 or 1-500, depending on how many were made from that lot. Overall, there is sort of a rustic, old-time saloon feel to the branding of every bottle.


Mixing Options


Due to the complexity of each flavor, Five Pawns only mixes their e-liquid with a 50-50 PG/VG ratio. However, all flavors are available in your choice of nicotine strength from 0mg to 24mg, in increments of six (0,6, 12, 18, 24). All ten flavors used for this review were mixed with 6mg/ml of nicotine.


Five Pawns’ premium e-liquid blends wouldn’t be the best choice for cloud chasing, not only due to the higher PG content, but also their higher price. Just as you wouldn’t chug a glass of Johnnie Walker Blue Label, you’re probably not gonna want to vaporize an entire milliliter in just a few puffs, unless, of course, you are like me and prefer a warm vape. However, each flavor does vape extremely well in devices like the Kayfun or Kayfun Lite, while still very satisfying on a dripper, which is my atomizer of choice and what I used for this review. On that note, let’s jump into the individual flavor discussion.


Five Pawns E-Liquid Flavors


Five Pawns Signature Series


Five Pawns signature vapor e-liquid review


Grandmaster – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: January 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: Faint orange

Smell: Peanuts and banana

Taste: The peanut butter is the most pronounced taste upon the first inhale. Upon exhaling, I get notes of a creamy caramel and banana.


Overall: This is one of my favorite flavors from the Five Pawns Signature Series. It’s very reminiscent of a banana split loaded with peanut chips. Fans of dessert and candy bar flavors should fall in love with Grandmaster’s perfectly layered blend.



Gambit – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: September 1st, 2013

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: A mix of yellow and orange

Smell: Caramel apple with a hint of whipped cream

Taste: Right off the bat, I taste apple and pie crust. There is a bit of cream on the finish, along with a touch of caramel.


Overall: Gambit was the first flavor I ever tried from Five Pawns. Before Castle Long Reserve was released, it was my favorite of their complex blends. Geared toward fans of dessert flavors, Gambit is easily an all day vape for its sweet, but not overpowering flavor.



Queenside – Rating: 4/5


Mixing Date: July 15th, 2013

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: Dark orange, whiskey

Smell: Orange, vanilla

Taste: Queenside has a sightly bitter orange taste with notes of vanilla and cream.


Overall: I was instant fan of Queenside when I first sampled it at ECC last September. Right behind berry flavors, I’m a big fan of citrus blends when it comes to e-juice. Queenside tastes almost identical to an Orange Julius, just not quite as sweet. Because the citrus blends extremely well with the French vanilla, it could be an all day vape for fans of either flavor.



Bowden’s Mate – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: September 1st, 2013

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: Dark orange, almost brown

Smell: Strong mint with a hint of chocolate and vanilla

Taste: This one is sweet on the tip of the tongue, while minty on the back.


Overall: The smell of Bowen’s Mate is reminiscent of an Andes chocolate mint while the taste reminds me of a thin mint or mint chocolate chip ice cream. However, unlike many menthol flavors, the mint isn’t too overpowering. And after a few puffs, it starts to become the best part of the blend. Bowden’s Mate is a must try for menthol and mint fans and could easily be enjoyed by vapers who prefer dessert flavors as well.



Absolute Pin – Rating: 4/5


Mixing Date: July 15th, 2013

Tasting Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: A pear-tinted yellow

Smell: Black licorice, cinnamon and other spices

Taste: Surprisingly, I don’t taste licorice at all on the inhale. Absolute Pin gives off notes of caramel and cream on the inhale while finishing with mild taste of black licorice and cinnamon on the exhale.


Overall: I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of Absolute Pin, considering it has such a strong scent of licorice, a flavor I am not a fan of. The Irish cream really comes out once the liquid is heated, along with taste of caramel. This could be either a dessert vape or something to enjoy with a tasty beverage. Absolutely Pin just might be the best licorice-styled juice available and is a must-try for fans of the flavor!



Five Pawns Mixology Edition


Five Pawns Mixology edition review



Castle Long – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: March 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 26th, 2014

Appearance: Faint orange

Smell: German chocolate cake

Taste: Castle Long gives me notes of coconut, almond, chocolate on inhale, slight taste of bourbon on exhale.


Five Pawns castle long e-liquid review
Five Pawns Castle Long (image courtesy of


Overall: The best of the bunch, Castle Long is quite possibly Five Pawns’ most grandiose flavor. While not as sweet as the reserve, it still has the delectable taste of a German chocolate cake or an Almond Joy. Castle Long could easily be an all day vape, especially for fans of dessert flavors and even tobacco connoisseurs. It’s the kind of vape that would pair well with a good stout or a snifter of Johnnie Walker Blue Label.



Lucena – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: February 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 26th, 2014

Appearance: Caramel-like orange

Smell: Faint Peach

Taste: I taste some peach and some spiced rum with a hint of nutty flavor, but mostly peach.


Overall: Lucena could very well be an all-day-vape for peach fans. It’s definitely “juicier” than Castle Long and like nothing I’ve tasted before, so I can’t really compare it to anything. It’s like a peach soaked for a few minutes in a bowl of Sailor Jerry’s with vapor does smell like a peach cobbler.



Sixty-Four – Rating: 4/5


Mixing date: February 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 26th, 2014

Appearance: Salmon orange

Smell: Citrus Mojto

Taste: Another flavor that is unlike anything I have ever tasted. There is definitely some mint and citrus in there, can’t really disseminate if it’s grapefruit. It’s slightly bitter, slightly sweet and refreshing.


Overall: Might be more suited to a cooler coil setup than what I have but Sixty-Four is still a satisfying, bold flavor.



Perpetual Check – Rating: 5/5


Mixing Date: February 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: White wine

Smell: Slightly grape, with a liqueur accent

Taste: Definitely tastes like some sort of currant cocktail. It has a light but crisp berry taste that is actually pretty refreshing.


Overall: Perpetual Check would be excellent for fans of complex berry flavors. It might be a little strong to be an all day vape but it’s one of the few grape flavors I’ve ever tried that doesn’t have a candy taste to it. I could imagine Perpetual Check pairing very well with some wine tasting or day out in the sun.



Fifth Rank – Rating: 4/5


Mixing Date: February 1st, 2014

Testing Date: March 27th, 2014

Appearance: Bright orange

Smell: Lime, mint

Taste: It has an initial taste of lime and mint, with a very slight finish of licorice and cream.


Overall: I am not normally a fan of lime and have always hated the taste of licorice, which I had to do some research on. It turns out the finish on a vape of Fifth Rank is likely the horehound herb flavor listed on Five Pawns’ tasting notes for the Mixology Edition. However, this juice is more than tolerable for me. It’s actually quite refreshing as the lime blends well with sweet cream and horehound. A must for licorice lovers and fans of citrus vapes.


Five Pawns mixology edition review
Five Pawns Mixology Edition (image courtesy of


If you’re looking for other e-juice brands to try, here’s a list of the best e-liquids for every taste.


Editor Rating

Packaging & Design5/5


Throat Hit5/5



Visit Site


Five Pawns does something few mixologists in the industry can do. They near-perfectly blend a wide variety of flavors, some that seemingly wouldn't work well in a mix, in some of the most unique concoctions imaginable. Not only that, but they seem to have the ability to take flavors you wouldn't normally enjoy and mix them into a mouth-watering and savory vape. While the price of each bottle may deter some, let me tell you, it's well worth it. When I first started vaping, I was paying $10 for 10ml of something like an RY4, and that was about as complex as it got. There's nothing wrong with ordering a month's supply of dirt cheap e-liquid online, so long as it keeps you from smoking. Five Pawns is for the flavor connoisseur, the vaper who's tried the rest, but is continually looking for the best.

All User Reviews

5 star


4 star


3 star


2 star


1 star


Average Rating

3.9 out of 5 stars
  1. Igor Slepchenko

    Too expensive for ADV but I d like to test the full line
  2. Alex_lider

    Great flavors

    Great flavors! Very smooth and delicious and don’t think I’ll ever be able to use anything else now!
  3. David Stansell

    Their flavors are Amazing!!

    Grand Master is hands-down the best peanut butter I've tasted in a vape. Got the sampler, I don't think I would order a 30ml of this but that's my individual taste. Their flavors are Amazing and sophisticated. Gambit, their top seller, is like apple crumble with vanilla whipped cream.This is an amazing juice and I would recommend to anyone.
  4. Jeff

    I found the same Justin. It was Castle Long that got me off baccy too. Sure it’s expensive but it is cheaper than tobacco.
    Then I got into DIY and found a very good Castle Long clone recipe which is nearly spot on. Back to back tasting the 5 pawns juice just shades the home made but there is not a lot in it. But it costs me £2.00 to make a 30ml bottle compared to £24.00 for Castle Long. Bit of a no brainer.
    There are also very good clones for Gambit and Grandmaster but being homemade you can have Gambit Pear or Gambit Peach or add more or less banana to your Grandmaster.
  5. Jamie

    Castle Long Reserve

    This is an excellent e juice but here is a recipe that is ”great” the way it is but DIYers can adjust flavors for preference. Acetyl Pyrazine5%-1.5%/TPA Brown Sugar Extra-1%/TPA Coconut Extra;1.5%/TPA Kentucky Bourbon-2.5 to 3%/FA Oak Wood-1.5 to 2%/TPA Toasted Almond-1.5%/FA or INA Vanilla Bourbon-1%/TPA Vanillian-1%. This recipe is just as good and you can adjust for your own preference. Enjoy!!!
  6. TVrieze


    This product is average to fair, for the cost associated with the juice, there’s alot better on the market. I have a bottle of the reserve and it taste like old spice and wiskey, mixed together. I have tried about all of their offerings at me local shop and still have not bought another.
  7. corey


    My opinion…its garbage and overpriced for something to help people quit smoking. Plus..where is the 3mg option? Oh wait..gotta spend $60 on 2 bottles of liquid to cut it down. Im good, thanks!
  8. Disappointed

    Not worth the hype

    I’m not sure what else I’m supposed to do to make this taste as well as they describe it. I have used my tanks, replaced coils, used my RDAs, rebuilt coils, replaced cotton. Every time I vape my bottle of Gambit, I only taste burnt rubber. I would try and write the owner saying that the bottle I got was nowhere near as it was described, but I have seen that he is not receptive of any criticism. Lost a customer from the start and a waste of my 30 bucks. Could have ordered 2 30ml of my favorite juices instead….
  9. Sledneck

    Best juice ever . Very smooth and delicious and don’t think I’ll ever be able to use anything else now.
  10. Lance Kim

    Pretty Good

    I tried two of these and I liked them. Butttttttt…. have you guys heard of Joy Flavor ( I’ve been trying to quit smoking, and after trying all the big brands (Blu, MarkTen, Logic) their disposables are the first I’ve found that actually curb my cigarette craving. The taste by far feels like a real cigarette … going to try their rechargeables next. Anyone tried these?
  11. Garen Torossi

    Fine Quality Vape Juice

    Once you try Five Pawns you may find it hard to go back to anything else. They blend the flavors masterfully into each hit making you ask yourself how its so consistent. Truth is they spent a lot of time on these recipes. Its true they are a bit pricey, but Id rather spend the extra cash on something Im going o enjoy rather than on a juice I’m impatiently waiting on finishing
  12. Justin

    Just CANNOT find a worthy competitor...

    When I switched from an eGo to real electronic cigarette (i.e. a mechanical mod), soon after I stumbled up Five Pawns Castle Long. I can say without hesitation that it is THIS ejuice that enabled me to put down those damn cigarettes!
    Yes it is expensive. But you know what? I still spend FAR less than I was spending on cigarettes, and it is worth it.
    Since then, my obsession has been to find another ejuice that I enjoy as much as Castle Long… It hasn’t happened yet. In fact, after being a regular CL vaper, it’s tough to find anything I can even enjoy without just “waiting for the tank to empty so I can put some CL back in there.” Lol
    So far, I have tried numerous generic blends from local shops, and the following: Five Pawns Grandmaster, Five Pawns Gambit, Suicide Bunnies Mother’s Milk, Cosmic Fog Milk and Honey, Lazarus Trinity, Lazarus Journey, Lazarus Vintage Cairo, Five Pawns Black Flag Fallen, Southern Tradition Back Porch Tobacco, The SteamCo The Gentleman’s Reserve, The SteamCo Old English Orchard Reserve, The SteamCo Beaumont’s Reserve, Alice In Vapeland 15 Foot Falls, and Five Pawn’s Castle Long Reserve.
    Some notes about these products: Some were ok, some were almost unvapeable, some were pretty good… But none of them have been as to achieve a 1b to my CL’s 1a, except Castle Long Reserve of course. That being said, I do NOT believe CLR is anywhere close to being worth the extra $10 a bottle. I buy it every once in awhile just for a treat (when I’m feeling rich lol), but it’s really not that much better than the standard CL, if at all.
    Grandmaster was ok, but the sweetness of the banana was just too much and eventually got to where the smell of it kinda made me sick. Gambit is ok, and definitely a good one, but honestly I’d just prefer the generic Caramel Apple from my local vape store if I want an apple flavored vape. Mother’s Milk also was too sweet and syrupy but eventually the smell kind of made me sickike Grandmaster did. Lazarus Journey and Trinity are both highly recommended, and have served as a nice change up for me. Lazarus Vintage Cairo was too perfumey for me. I think Back Porch Tobacco could be good at 3mg or even 0mg, but I vape 12mg and this flavor was WAAAYYY too strong at 12. 15 Foot Valls is another good one, though the flavor is a little light and simple for a premium juice after being hooked on CL. Milk and Honey was nice, reminds me of Mother’s Milk but without the strawberry and without the overpowering syrupy sweetness. Black Flag Fallen Tom some getting used to and is a very strong flavor, but I do like it for a change of pace… However when CL is $27.50 and Black Flag is $30, I’d rather just buy CL.
    Now I will tackle The SteamCo’s reserve line. I ordered these because The Gentleman’s Reserve was supposed to be very similar to CL, and the two other flavored sounded nice. TGR is in no way comparable to CL. It has similar flavors, but is more sweet with a perfumy artificial sweetener taste (this is consistent with the other 2 flavored as well), and it totally missed on the wonderful bourbon notes that make CL so unique. While it is a VERY poor man’s version of CL, I wouldn’t recommend it. I found it was best used as a mixer to make my CL last longer… I’d mix about 3/4 CL with 1/4 TGR without much lost in the flavor profile.
    Beaumont Reserve also had the perfumey artificial sweetness, but it was tolerable. Interestingly enough I found that mixing a little of this with my Five Pawns Black Flag Fallen gave BFF a nice cherry almond undertone, and made it last longer.
    Old English Orchard Reserve also was a miss with it’s perfumey sweetness. I found none of the SteamCo Reserve flavors to be vape worthy beyond one 2ml Atlantis tank. Interestingly, I tried Five Pawns Gambit AFTER having OEOR, and it seems this is another attempt at cloning a Five Pawns flavor. While Gambit isn’t mt preference, it is a vape worthy flavor and is much richer and better than OEOR.
    In conclusion, I still have found nothing comparable in quality, complexity, or enjoyability to Five Pawns Castle Long. I can vape my local shop’s Caramel Apple, Cosmic Fog Milk and Honey, Lazarus Trinity and Lazarus Journey, to some extent Five Pawns Gambit. I will probably buy these flavored again. Five Pawns Black Flag Fallen is also pretty good and I may buy another bottle to have around when I feel like vaping something that is totally different than anything else. All the other juices I mentioned in this review will probably never be purchased by me again.
    Still searching for a real competitor to be my ADV! Until then, I’ll be enjoying my CL. Lucky for me, my friend Joey Cole has an AMAZING vape store in Fort Smith, Arkansas and he currently sells Five Pawns for $19.99 due to his obsession to win a “pissing match” he got in with another store lol.
    They do sell online and will ship to you, so if you want some great discounts on Five Pawns, Google “The Vapor Station” in Fort Smith, Arkansas and hit them up!
  13. Andrew

    Love this, but one problem.

    Die hard five-pawners will defend their juice to the death. I love castle long, dont get me wrong, but I have had problems with this company before. One bottle I purchased, labeled “castle long” was actually grandmaster. Five pawns refused to remedy the situation basically not believing me. Another batch of castle long did not come pre steeped as it usually does and had a weird “plastic” taste to it. Didn’t even try contacting after my first attempt.
    I love castle long, but for the price, you could do better. Try “gentleman’s reserve” from steam co vape. It’s much much better, and a company I can feel good giving money to.
  14. Kurtis


    The Castle Long is my favorite.. But Gambit is amazing also.. Oh but wait Grandmaster really good too!!! AAAAHHHHHHH
  15. f.virtue

    Some of the best.

    Great flavors. I really like Perpetual Check. Only one other liquid does it for me and that is Exoticseliquid – Jamaican Rum and Cuban Tobacco liquids …superb !
  16. Jackie

    Well Worth It

    After trying various cheaper juices, I lucked up and found out about Five Pawns. Ordered both the sample packs with the intention of using one of each line at a time. I now have four flavors going because each one was so good, I could not make myself wait to try another! When you taste the juice and compare it with the descriptions, you actually taste every single flavor that they say is there. YES, it does cost more than less delectable juice BUT, it also costs less than packs of cigarettes. The customer service is amazing. I ordered on a Wednesday and received my product on Friday (in Mississippi….from California….with no shipping cost) after calling customer service to change the address…..with no issues I may add. I just do not think I can go back to a lesser juice after trying this!!!!
  17. Jason

    there is Five Pawns then there is everything else

    Each new flavor I try knocks another brand out of the mix. Grandmaster, Castlelong, Gambit and Perpetual Check so far are my top four, because those are the four that I have. I can’t get enough of Five Pawns
  18. R Fincham

    Perfection in every bottle

    This is not your cheap and simple e-juice, every flavor is complex and delectable, some cannot justify the cost but I say if you want to treat yourself you cannot go wrong with any of their flavors although the Castle Long and Grandmaster are my personal faves.
  19. Bryan

    Best juice on the market

    These guys make the best stuff. Definitely try the castle long reserve.
  20. Deb

    Grandmaster, in my opinion, is top of the line. Nothing compares. Fabulous all day vape.
Page 1 of 212